Tag Cloud
Twitter
Site Updates
No RSS feeds have been linked to this section.

ITidiots open forum > OEM and Enterprise Licence

Not my area but asking anyway. We have an Enterprise licence for Microsoft XP i'm told covers upgrades only. So get a new PC it has OEM stickers on the machines. Last place I worked I was told the OEM was required as part of the enterprise agreement. You get a PC and it had to have an OEM copy of Windows on, XP or Vista. In new place the PCs come in, they dont bother wiping them they just use the OEM copy pre installed (they seriously need lite touch deployment). They want us to record the OEM key down on the box. What is the point? I've asked why they need this. They weren't sure. I told them surely you have a enterprise xp key, thats all you need a record of. Besides, the recent one that has come in has oem xp installed but with an oem licence key on the case.

Can anyone think of a reason to record the oem keys on each pc that comes in? I'm correct right? There is no reason.

Posted from a Nokia E71 :) not quite dead yet Nicky and Su-Fay. NHS place I worked at dumped their blackberries and moved to the Nokia E series :)
August 3, 2010 | Registered Commenterjoey pesci
Well, maybe they have the enterprise license, but it may not cover the new machines if it was done on a per-device basis. Therefore, the new machines are on their own license...

Not an expert on this (obviously) but it is an idea.
August 3, 2010 | Registered CommenterJamie
A surprisingly sensible and possible answer from you :)

However, I'm pretty sure the department want them recorded as they don't know what they are doing. They don't know why they are recording it. I mean what's the point in the one I did today. Has XP on it pre-installed yet the licence sticker is Win 7 OEM. So even if I needed to reinstall XP, the key ain't gonna work.

Seems totally pointless to me and more work when its so not needed.
August 3, 2010 | Registered Commenterjoey pesci
So, I thought if the OEM put XP on it, isn't it illegal to ship it without the right sticker?

I know from school that all the machines have the OEM stickers on them, mainly because they've come straight from HP and have the license on them, but still.

Actually, it is a good way of nicking the keys if they use the enterprise license... I think they caught on as they blacked out the keys on the new machines...
August 3, 2010 | Registered CommenterJamie
Pointless nicking the keys they are all disabled. Use them on another machine and it won't activate, you have to call MS.
August 4, 2010 | Registered Commenterjoey pesci
It worked on the machines that had the OEM version of Vista Basic on them from HP. I think they never activated Vista and just did a clean install of XP on them.

But, as nobody likes Vista Basic and it is useless, I never bothered nicking any more keys. It did work in one VM...
August 4, 2010 | Registered CommenterJamie
You are correct that a volume licence is a upgrade only you need a OEM or retail licence on the PC. So for example you would need XP Home OEM in order to install a XP Pro volume licence (of course this is no longer the case because you cant buy XP, hence downgrade rights). However, if you need XP Pro volume and the machines have XP Pro OEM you only have to buy one volume licence and one volume XP pro media kit to use the volume licence key/media on all machines this is because you can use "image rights". Why would you want to do this? because its easier to deal with one set of media and one key, especially with RIS and Imaging.

Where things get really complicated and a load of IT people get this wrong is downgrade rights! If you by a Windows 7 Pro volume licence intending to use downgrade rights to install XP Pro on a machine with XP home you cant!!!!! the reason being is that Windows 7 Pro isn't a upgrade path for XP Home OEM, even if you are only wanting XP Pro, sure you can install it but its not legal.

<<Can anyone think of a reason to record the oem keys on each pc that comes in? I'm correct right? There is no reason.

@joey To answer your question sometimes you have to provide Retail and OEM details to Microsoft so they know that you have enough OEM or Retail licences to upgrade from, if you log into a eopen account you can see this. However, because XP is old they currently don't check them when installing XP as a downgrade right , however, they will if you buy Windows 7 Pro volume licences wanting to install Windows 7 Pro when upgrading from XP Pro , Vista or windows 7 OEM/Retail. Other than that its good auditing, especially when vista and XP have different rules when upgrading licensing. So i guess they plan to send this list of the Microsoft at some point.
August 4, 2010 | Registered CommenterSupernova
Also you have to provide OEM deals when extending SA on OEMS
August 4, 2010 | Registered CommenterSupernova
I just loged into one of works eopen accounts to get the column names as i couldnt remember when writing my post for you

if you go to Home>Relationship Summary>License Details for a new order eg Windows 7 Ent you will see "Effective Quantity" and "Unresolved Quantity". If you buy 50 licences at first you will see Effective Quantity 0 , Unresolved Quantity 50 this is until you provide Microsoft with details for 50 OEM or Retail licences to upgrade from then Effective Quantity= 50 and you guessed it Unresolved Quantity becomes 0.

I hope that helps?
August 4, 2010 | Registered CommenterSupernova
Hmm, odd as we never ever took these details at the NHS and we were a Microsoft partner. Thanks for the info though, but still personally believe the person originally requesting the info actually doesn't know why they are requesting it. They just want it "Just in case". That's the impression I get anyway. Would be years before they even think about moving to Windows 7 I think, so def wouldn't be that. Also as it looks like they are soon to outsource their IT, sod 'em.
August 9, 2010 | Registered Commenterjoey pesci
>>Would be years before they even think about moving to Windows 7 I think, so def wouldn't be that.

We often get machines Vista with an edition that's needs Windows 7 pro licences upgrades so we can downgrade to XP pro if that makes any sense :-)
October 30, 2010 | Registered CommenterSupernova